Top Five

by jrana

…Highlights of Memorial Day Weekend

1. Star Trek Into the Darkness in 3D!  I came to the conclusion that Spock and I have uncanny similarities:

  • We are incapable of lying (including white lies)
  • We are (kind of awkwardly) emotional
  • We are overly rational

2. Chocolate Chip Muffins (with miniature chocolate chips, of course)

3. Banana Bread (which is SUPER EASY to make AND, to my surprise, called for NO butter…I guess that’s what the oil was for instead. Everything in moderation, right?)

4. I have mixed feelings about this article – on one hand, I appreciate the ability to watch recorded lectures at HMS, but it is truly not the same as interacting with peers and faculty. Maybe it’s my liberal arts blood, but I think technology should be used to make learning better in the classroom. Wellesley has joined the MOOC movement, though, so I look forward to seeing how it plays out (and, I’m not going to lie…I really wanted to sign up for some of the courses!).

5. Michelle Au (who is a fantastic blogger herself, and, perhaps, more importantly a Wellesley alum) gave a commencement speech at a Wright State University Medical School! Hippo (officially the “Hippocratic Society”), Wellesley’s Pre-Med Society, was lucky enough to have her as our WIM (Women In Medicine) speaker in the spring of 2012. “Be ready for everything you think you know now to change. Be open to new experiences. But always remember who you are in this moment,” were some of her words of wisdom. Even though I’m not graduating from medical school, I think I’m going to take her advice, too (it can’t hurt).

Two more weeks of medical school? Let’s do this.